Print Page | Sign In | Join Today
Virginia General Assembly
Share |

About the Virginia General Assembly and State Elections in Virginia

The Virginia General Assembly dates from the establishment of the House of Burgesses at Jamestown in 1619. It is heralded by Virginians as the "oldest continuous law-making body in the New World.” The 1776 Virginia Constitution confirmed our bicameral legislature, which consists of the House of Delegates and Senate of Virginia.  The House of Delegates consists of 100 members and the Senate 40 members.  The terms of office are two years for members of the House and four years for members of the Senate. Members may not hold any other public office during their term of office. The General Assembly’s chief responsibilities are to represent citizens in the formulation of public policy, enact laws of the Commonwealth, approve the budget, levy taxes, elect judges and confirm appointments by the Governor.

Virginia’s general election cycle is based on odd numbered years, and statewide office elections are one year off the national Presidential cycle.  Thus, general elections were held in November 2017, at which time the three statewide officeholders will be up for election:  Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Attorney General, as will all 100 seats in the House of Delegates.  No Senate seats were up for election at that time, but rather all 40 will be up at the next general election in November 2019.    

Virginia is one of approximately a dozen states with a "Biotech Caucus” in the state legislature. The Virginia Bioscience Legislative Caucus (VBLC) is a bi-partisan, bi-cameral group of approximately 60 state legislators who share a common interest in the development of the bioscience industry in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The current Chair of the Caucus is Senator Janet Howell

View Current Legislation We're Tracking

Our Premium Partners

Sign up for our newsletter
800 E. Leigh St.  |  Richmond, Va 23219-1534  |  PH: 804.643.6360  |  Email Us
Stay Connected