Print Page | Sign In | Join Today
Women Building Bio: XX Factor
Share |


SEPTEMBER 29, 2016

INOVA Center for Personalized Health

3225 Gallows Rd.

Fairfax, VA






Please use #xxfactor2016 for post event discussions


Event Photos

Created with flickr slideshow.







News and Press


     This Virginia Bio conference is celebrating women in bioscience

    DC | September 23, 2016


     What is the XX factor?  

Boston Commons High Tech Network | September 17, 2016


     What is the XX factor? Virginia event to highlight women in biotech          

Washington Business Journal | September 16, 2016


      Virginia Bio Honors Contributions of Women in Bioscience

       American Entrepreneurship Today | September 2016


         Women Building Bio: the XX Factor

      Disruptive Women | September 2016






 Thank you to our sponsors:














Thank you to our exhibitors:



New England Labs

Prince William County Economic Development



Thank you to supporting organizations:        





Part of the



Special thanks to the members of our honorary committee:



Peggy Agouris, Ph.D., Dean College of Science, George Mason University


Barbara Boyan, Ph.D. Dean VCU School of Engineering

Kathlynn Brown, Ph.D., Director of Macromolecular Bioscience, SRI Shenandoah Valley

Tami Brown, Associate Director, State Government Affairs & Policy, Merck & Co. (Washington D.C.)


Amy Caro, Sector VP and GM, Health Division, Northrop Grumman Information Systems

Jill Carroll, Partner, SROne


Hon. Barbara Comstock, Member United States House of Representative


Deborah Crawford, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, George Mason University (Fairfax)

Kim Davis, J.D., Vice President & Chief Compliance Officer, kaléo, (Richmond)


Daniela Drago, Ph.D., Director, Clinical & Translational Research, George Washington University (Washington D.C.)

Joanne Duncan, President Membership and Business Operations, BIO

Susan Duncan, Ph.D., Associate Director, Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station, Virginia Tech (Blacksburg)


Kolaleh Eskandanian, Ph.D., M.B.A., P.M.P., Executive Director of the Sheikh Zayed Institute for Pediatric Surgical Innovation, Children’s National (Washington, D.C.)

Jessica Foley, Ph.D. Chief Scientific Officer, Focused Ultrasound Foundation


Mindy Goldsborough, Ph.D. Chief Science and Technology Officer, ATCC

Ia Gomez, Ph.
D., Associate Dean of Science and Applied Technologies, Northern Virginia Community College (Manassas)

Yvonne Harris, Ph.D., Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship, James Madison University (Harrisonburg)

Natalie Hauser, M.D., Pediatric and Clinical Genetics, INOVA (Fairfax)

Megan Healy, ‎Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academics - ‎Virginia Community College System


Elaine Horn-Ranney, Ph.D. CEO Tympanogen

Suchitra Hourigan, M.D. Pediatric Gastroenterologist, INOVA (Fairfax)

Hon. Janet Howell, Member, Senate of Virginia


Kathi Huddleston, Ph.D., R.N., Director, Clinical Research Projects INOVA (Fairfax)

Crystal Icenhour, Ph.D. CEO Aperiomics


Cynda Johnson, M.D., MBA, Dean and President, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine


Sherre Jones, Client Unit Executive, U.S. Federal Healthcare, IBM 

Rachel King, CEO, GlycoMimetics


Theresa Mayer, Ph.D. Vice President Research and Innovation, Virginia Tech

Erin O'Shea, Ph.D. President (elect), Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Nicole Palya Wood, Regional Director, State Advocacy at PhMRA


Liz Povar, Board Member, LEAD Virginia


 Cynthia Rancourt, CEO Polymer Solutions


Marsha Rappley, M.D. Vice President for Health Sciences & VCU Healthy System Chief Executive Officer

Carrie Roth, CEO Virginia Biotechnology Research Park


Peggy Shupnik, Ph.D. Dean of Research, School of Medicine, University of Virginia

Jennifer Siciliano, Vice President Government Relations, INOVA (Fairfax)

Kyparissia Sirinakis, C.P.A., Managing Partner, Epidarex Capital (Bethesda)

Lisa Simms Booth, Director, External Affairs & Operations, Faster Cures (Washington, D.C.)


Julia Spicer, Executive Director, Mid-Atlantic Venture Association


Robin Strongin, Founder, Disruptive Women in Health Care (Washington D.C.)

Nancy Taylor, J.D., Shareholder; Co-Chair, Health & FDA Business Practice, Greenberg Traurig (Washington D.C.)

Joanne Theurich, CAO, HHMI Janelia Research Campus

Denise Toney, Ph.D. Director, Division of Consolidated Labs, Commonwealth of Virginia

Rosemarie Truman, Founder & CEO, Center for Advancing Innovation (Washington D.C.)

Nancy Vorona, M.B.A., Vice President, Research Investment, Center for Innovative Technology (Herndon)


Special thanks to the members of our champions committee:


Ed Albrigo, CEO, Center for Innovative Technologies

Ali Andalibi, Associate Dean of Research, George Mason University

Henry Broadus, Vice President Strategic Initiatives, William & Mary

Martin Chapman, President & CEO, Indoor Biotechnologies

Alan Connor, CEO Cadence Inc.

Jeff Conroy, CEO, Embody LLC

Jim Corcoran, President & CEO, Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce

Ray Cypess, President & CEO, ATCC

Dennis Dean, Director Fralin Life Science Institute, Virginia Tech

Ross Dunlap, CEO, Ceres Nanosciences

Ali Eskandarian, Dean, Virginia Science and Technology Campus, George Washington University

Tom Frantz, Chairman Emeritus, Williams Mullen

Michael Friedlander, Founding Executive Director, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute

Jeff Gallagher, CEO, Virginia Bio

Alan Grant, Dean, Virginia Tech College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Mike Grisham, President & CEO, Virginia Biosciences Health Research Corporation

Jerry Gwaltney, Executive Director, Institute for Advanced Learning and Research

Richard Heller, Frank Reedy Center for Bioelectrics, Old Dominion University


Mark Herzog, Vice President Corporate Affairs, kaléo

Joe Humphries, Executive Vice President-Greater Washington Market, Xenith Bank

Andrew Krouse, CEO, Cavion


Thomas Loughran Jr., Director, UVA Cancer Center

Warren Martin, Partner Technology and Life Sciences, Cherry Bekaert

Scott Meza, Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig

Lenn Murrelle, President & CEO, Venebio

John Niederhuber, CEO, Inova Translational Medicine Institute

Chris Penet, Vice President, Bio-Cat

Brian Pollock, CEO, NeoAntigenics

Jim Powers, CEO, Hemoshear Therapeutics

Michael Ross, President & CEO, Euclid Systems

Frank M. Ruff, Jr.,Senate of Virginia

Reg Seeto, Vice President Partnering & Strategy, Medimmune

Richard Shannon, Executive Vice President Health Affairs, University of Virginia

Mark Sickles, Virginia House of Delegates


Todd Stottlemeyer, CEO, Inova Center for Personalized Health

Sterling Thomas, Fellow and Director of Data Analytics Center of Excellence, Noblis

Our Premium Partners

Sign up for our newsletter
800 E. Leigh St.  |  Richmond, Va 23219-1534  |  PH: 804.643.6360  |  Email Us
Stay Connected